The abundant coconut trees of the local landscape gave the town its name. It was founded in 1703 by two Portuguese bandeirante brothers, Antônio and João Furtado Leite..
Located along a route taken by adventurers in search of gold, the history of Caeté begins in 1662 when its discovery was attributed to the bandeirante Lourenço Castanho Taque from São Paulo state.
The town's name is an abbreviation of the tupi word tesáberabusu, which means "big bright eyes", referring to the nuggets of gold that were found in the region.
It is believed that the town was named in homage to the famous literary work of Manuel Inácio da Silva Alvarenga, in which the pseudonym of his muse was Glaura.
Also known as the Opera House, simplicity is what defines the second-oldest operational theatre in Brazil. The artists don't even need amplifiers, thanks to the acoustics enhanced by the wood.DISCOVER
It is a landmark of religious architecture in Minas Gerais. It was the first stonework temple and the interior decoration exhibits the first rococo-style panels of the captaincy.DISCOVER
The building of the former Gold Assaying Office and Foundry was constructed in 1713. The museum currently houses exhibits of sacred art and materials for the extraction, melting, minting and control of gold in the 18th century..DISCOVER
Ir de Glaura a Cocais exige menos esforço físico do que o caminho contrário.
The mountain range offers one of the prettiest views of Minas Gerais. At an altitude of 1,746 metres is the Nossa Senhora da Piedade sanctuary.DISCOVER